Too fat to start bulking at 19?

Reaction score
I’ve been lifting for 15 months, but I’ve only spent 3 months bulking, the rest either cutting or maintaining. Should I commit to a long term bulk now and accept being fat for a short while? Or would it be better to keep cutting until I’m <15% body fat. Btw I’m 19, 5’8”, and started at 198 and am currently 173ish. I loved seeing my gains during my short bulk, and sometimes feel like I have nothing to cut to. I think I'm fat, but everyone tells me I need to bulk, so I thought it would be a good idea to ask other aspiring body builders. Personally, I feel like I spent too much of my teenage years dieting, and am long due for a serious long-term bulk. I started powerlifting last week.

I appreciate all the advice I can get!!!
Screenshot 2023-07-20 at 10.19.48 PM.pngScreenshot 2023-07-20 at 10.20.18 PM.png

Test_subject

Super Duper Elite
Reaction score
How about lifting and gaining weight over a longer period of time without getting fat? 🤔💡
Exactly this.

Make sure you’re getting enough protein and lift weights consistently. You’ll naturally recomp if you eat at maintenance. Once you get to a good muscle to bodyfat ratio, bump your calories up 2-300 and do a slow, extended bulk.

transcend2007

Elite
SI Founding Member
Reaction score
Nice nudes ... guys here really appreciate that ...

As for advice if you've been lifting for 15 months and not gotten results research a better routine and track that you are progressively overloading ... meaning that are lifting heavier weights over time ... see secrets to getting big thread here ... lift heavy things .. then lift heavier things ... consistently 4 to 5 times a week for years (not weeks or months) and eat adequate protein 150+ grahms per day (every day not once in a while) ... plus track workouts to verify progression and diet to verify protein consumption ...